Weekend in Capetown

03/18/2019

It has been a very busy and quick few days in Capetown. We flew in early Friday morning and went straight to Table Mountain. We had to wait an hour in the blazing heat to get onto the cable car. We met a nice couple from Germany and a local named Waldo who had a pack that ended up being a jump suit. He jumped off the mountain and landed safely at the bottom. We then had some time to see Capetown from a nice vantage point. After this we went down and did some shopping and eating before getting to our bed and breakfast. 

The next day we broke up into two groups. The ladies taught other ladies about bible classes and the men went and visited some of the local preachers. They reported about all the wonderful work that is being done here in Capetown. The greatest need for all the preachers in South Africa it seems is to have the churches able to fund preachers so they do not have to work in other fields. It was a great time of fellowship and encouragement to us all. We then went and had dinner with some elders and the preacher from one of the congregations here in Capetown. It was a great time of fellowship.

On Sunday I went with Amy and Andrew to the Eastridge church of Christ. This church is in a poorer region of Capetown and as we were picking up the members in their van I was told of a lot of gang violence and gunshots that are heard every night in this area. The largest local gang is called the Americans. When they first said we are with the Americans I started to talk to them, but they quickly told me that we are in the Americans territory. That I should not wear anything with the American flag on it or I may be in for trouble, like getting shot trouble. We had a wonderful service at Eastridge, they also run an elementary school at the building and serve around 110 children. I preached a sermon on Faithful till Death, my longest sermon ever during this service as they wanted me to preach for twice as long as I normally do. We had five people come forward and express that they were struggling with their faith and wanted to finish the race strong. We then had a wonderful fellowship meal with some of the church. Another long conversation with the brothers about elders as they do not have elders and are in the process of learning more. This is also a recurring theme here in South Africa. The teaching has either been wrong or very weak. Don't get me wrong, many churches do have elders, but there are also many without.

After services and lunch we went back to the B and B and packed to get back on the plane. It was a very quick trip, but I believe we were able to impact the church as they have impacted us. I am now back at the Bible College and am waiting patiently for one of my World Bible School students to show up. She has another three hours to do so and after that we fly back to the States. 

God bless everyone of you who have joined me on this incredible journey. If you have been a supporter, thank you and I look forward to reporting to you and telling you more. If you have seen just a glimpse of the potential of the work here in South Africa and the Southern Africa Bible College, please let me know so I can get you in contact with Kirk Eason. 

Until the next trip, you can follow along with my sermons and mission activities at: www.thepreacherman.net


© 2019 Luke's South Africa Mission Trip. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started